Indian Ocean islands

Comoro islands

Comoro Archipelago

The Comoro Archipelago, located off the south-east coast of Africa, is made up of four islands: Mayotte, Grande Comoro, Moheli and Anjouan.

In geological terms the Comoro Islands are still young, so few species have colonised the islands. However, the islands do have a high number of endemic species including four different species of scops owl, one species having evolved on each island.